Changing permissions for a tool in a course or a project site

Note: To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.

Permissions are generally granted for a tool, rather than for a particular item created by using a tool. For example, permissions are set for the Announcements tool, rather than for individual announcements.

Notes:

Most tools that contain individual instructor-created items, such as Announcements or Schedule, have permission settings that you can modify as described below. In addition to the exceptions noted above, some tools, including Syllabus, Messages, and Drop Box, do not allow you to modify permissions.

To change permissions for most tools that allow permission editing:

  1. Open the site by clicking its tab.

  2. In the menubar, click the tool for which you want to set permissions.

  3. Click Permissions or Permission Settings at the top of the main window.

  4. Check or uncheck the boxes to grant or deny the permissions.

  5. Click Save.

Note: You must exit the permissions feature by clicking Save or Cancel before you can set permissions in another tool.

Each tool has a different set of available permissions. For a general idea of the permissions available, see the following list of permissions for the Resources tool: