Note: To complete these procedures, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.
On this page:
To add a new assignment:
Assignments, and then, at the top, click
Checkmark. If you choose points, enter the maximum possible points (must be a positive number or zero).
Note: This step is optional, but you will receive an
alert message at the top of the page when you post the assignment if
you leave it blank. Click
Post a second time to proceed.
Note: This option will not appear if the Schedule tool has not been added to the site.
"I have neither given nor received aid on this assignment. Yes (You must respond to submit your assignment.)"
Do not add assignment to Gradebook
Add Assignment to Gradebook.
Associate with existing Gradebook entry
Note: Assignments added in the Assignments tool can only be graded, edited, or removed in the Assignments tool, even if they are added to the Gradebook or associated with a Gradebook entry.
Display to siteor
Display to selected groups. If you choose the latter, you'll see the groups and sections that are available; use the checkboxes to select the group(s) and/or section(s) to which you want the assignment released.
Note: The "Access" section will only appear if groups have previously been defined for this site. See Managing groups.
Do not send me notification emails for any student submissions
Send me a notification email for each student submission
Send me one email per day summarizing notifications for student submissions
Note: Notification settings in this area apply to all users with a role of instructor, assistant, or adjunct instructor/teaching assistant.
Previewif you wish to review your assignment before you post it. To see how it will look to students, click the black triangle next to
While previewing the assignment, you can click
if you want to save your assignment before you post it. You can then
go back to it and revise it before you post it; see Posting an assignment previously saved as a draft. Only instructors (or those with the proper
permissions) can view drafts.
Post when you are ready to make the assignment
accessible by students.
To revise a posted assignment before or after its open date or due date:
Note: If the assignment is currently open to students, you will only have the options of previewing and posting the assignment.
When students view the revised assignment, they will be notified that changes have been made.Back to top
To delete an assignment:
Assignments. You will see a list of assignments.
Deleteto permanently delete the assignment or
Cancelif you've changed your mind.